One Great Thing

I’m back! And I am excited to continue writing.

It’s day 2 of Diabetes Blog Week, hosted by Karen Graffeo of Bitter-Sweet.

Today’s topic is One Great Thing. Here’s the assignment: Living with diabetes (or caring for someone who lives with it) sure does take a lot of work, and it’s easy to be hard on ourselves if we aren’t “perfect”. But today it’s time to give ourselves some much deserved credit. Tell us about just one diabetes thing you (or your loved one) does spectacularly! Fasting blood sugar checks, oral meds sorted and ready, something always on hand to treat a low, or anything that you do for diabetes. Nothing is too big or too small to celebrate doing well!

I don’t have diabetes. But my 16-year-old daughter was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes 15 years ago. Throughout the years, I have spent a lot of time beating myself up, angry for not doing a better job helping her control her numbers. But as she has grown older, she has taken more and more control over her diabetes. At this point, she pretty much does everything herself without much input from me. So I do not have as much opportunity to be hard on myself anymore.

However, today, I want to give my daughter Emily the credit. She does so many things spectacularly! But perhaps what most impresses me is that she has finally come to “own” her diabetes. For a long time, she didn’t really want anyone at school to know she had diabetes. She didn’t want to talk about it with anyone. She didn’t want anyone asking her questions.

I, on the other hand, felt so helpless that I immediately partnered up with JDRF, volunteering, fundraising, speaking, etc. Emily just came along for the ride. But two years ago, she decided that she wanted to get involved. Since then, she has been interviewed on TV, given speeches, raised money, and raised awareness. And she is a natural. She has such poise, such grace, such ease. It is amazing to watch. I am so proud of her.

As devastating as her diagnosis is, she has taken that burden and been able to discover strength and talent that she may not have tapped into otherwise.

Hmmmm. I am going to have to remember to tell her how proud I am of her! I don’t think a mom can say that too often…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One Great Thing

  1. Drew says:

    No need to beat yourself up! You have proven to be a leader and your involvement has not only helped your daughter but helps others directly and indirectly. Great to have people like you, and congrats to your daughter for taking over.

  2. Tina Shaye C says:

    It sounds like you raised one really awesome young lady, who just happens to be a PWD. You should be proud.

Leave a Reply

