One Thing to Improve

Image

II am so grateful that I found out about Diabetes Blog Week! Thanks to  Karen Graffeo of Bitter-Sweet for hosting this.

It’s day 3 and here’s today’s topic: Yesterday we gave ourselves and our loved ones a big pat on the back for one thing we are great at. Today let’s look at the flip-side. We probably all have one thing we could try to do better. Why not make today the day we start working on it. No judgments, no scolding, just sharing one small thing we can improve so the DOC can cheer us on!

Today’s topic is going to be a lot harder than yesterday’s. Only because the things that I could do better make me more emotional. What could I do better? Sometimes I worry that I am not sympathetic enough.

The other day my daughter went low. Unfortunately, neither of us realized that. She is 16 and was being crabby and difficult. Not surprising – after all, she is a teenager. I was one a long time ago too! And I remember the mood swings, the emotional roller coaster, the insecurity, and yes, the brattiness. So I get it. But boy it gets old! And sometimes I don’t handle her hormones very well. This was one of those times.

For all of those with teenage girls, I am sure you can imagine how the interaction between the two of escalated. She ended up crying, and I stormed out. Then suddenly she started yelling out that she was low. I brought her meter to her, and indeed, she was low. Very low.

But I was so worked up and frustrated, I just found it nearly impossible to let go of the anger at how she was treating me and move to comfort her.  I had to walk out of the room.

I knew the moment that I left her side that I needed to try to do better, to be more compassionate…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to One Thing to Improve

  1. Briley says:

    In high school, one of my friends would say “Briley, you’re being a *itch. Go test.” Being a teenager with diabetes is very difficult, but you WILL get through this 🙂

    • Vickie says:

      Thank you! One other thing that I have learned is that blaming all bad moods on blood sugars is also unwelcome. We went through a period where if I even suggested she check her blood sugar because of how she was behaving, things escalated. And quite frankly, I wasn’t always right. I guess it’s like women who are upset being dismissed as having PMS! It’s a fine line 😉

  2. This is a tough one. The emotional side of diabetes affects both diabetic and our care giver, yet it is an area often overlooked by the medical community.

    I personally try to access my reaction to things. Like am I really upset or is my mood being added by my sugar levels?

    http://pearlsa.com/blog/

  3. Shannon says:

    I’m starting to experience that with my older diabetic. She’s almost 14 and she does have her moments! If she is anything like her 17 year old sister I’m in for a bumpy ride! There is not easy answer. It is a hard balance. Just remember that you are human too. You are not always going to do the “right” thing. But you know you love her and want what is best for her. She’ll come around in the end.

    • Vickie says:

      Your “older” diabetic? Does that mean you have more than one?? And yes, it is a hard balance. I just felt so badly that I got angry at her when really, it wasn’t her fault. She was 40. Ugh. Thanks for the nice words…

Leave a Reply

